university of brighton logo


The University of Brighton can trace its origins back to 1859 when the new School of Art opened in the coastal town, with just 110 pupils.

After becoming Brighton Polytechnic and, in the late 1970s, merging with the East Sussex College of Higher Education, the institution gained university status in 1992. It focuses on professional education.

In 2006, the University of Brighton teamed up with engineering company Ricardo UK to open the Sir Harry RIcardo Laboratories, which carries out extensive research into  - among other things - internal combustion engines and laser-based measurement techniques.

Five years later, in 2011, the university founded the University of Brighton Doctoral College, which oversees postgraduate research. It now has a community of more than 500 postgraduate research students.

In the same year, the institution’s International College welcomed its first students. The college provides programmes that prepare international students for undergraduate and postgraduate courses.

The university now has more than 20,000 students across its five campuses, which are located not only in Brighton, where there are three, but also in Eastbourne and Hastings.

Tuition & Finances

To view pricing for your course, visit university website.


Academic Programs

Engineering & technology

Electrical & Electronic Engineering

Mechanical & Aerospace Engineering

Civil Engineering

Arts & humanities

Art, Performing Arts & Design

Languages, Literature & Linguistics

History, Philosophy & Theology


Clinical, pre-clinical & health

Other Health

Computer science

Computer Science

Business & economics

Business & Management

Economics & Econometrics

Accounting & Finance

Social sciences

Communication & Media Studies



Politics & International Studies (incl Development Studies)

Physical sciences

Mathematics & Statistics

Geology, Environmental, Earth & Marine Sciences






Life sciences

Biological Sciences

Sport Science

Agriculture & Forestry



Facts & Figures

Brighton University Established / Founded: 1992

Locations and Campus: 3 in Brighton and 1 in Eastbourne

Region: Brighton, Sussex

Notable University Departments: 5 faculties - Faculty of Arts and Architecture, Faculty of Education and Sport, Faculty of Health, Faculty of Management and Information Sciences, Faculty of Science and Engineering

Enrollment: 19,000

Nationalities and Diversity: 1300 international students from 105 countries

Number of Staff at Brighton University: 2,100





Kaplan Universities

You may also like

Applying For A UK Student Visa

Applying For A UK Student Visa

Leave A Comment

{"email":"Email address invalid","url":"Website address invalid","required":"Required field missing"}

Subscribe to our newsletter to get the latest updates on schools around the world!

I understand the

Lu Gold EDC
Hello There!
I'm here if you need any help.